Sewing ModKid Style Review & Giveaway!

Pinterest

You need this book.

I’ll repeat that to make sure you got it….

You NEED this!

Lucky for you, you can win one right here. :D

I was beyond happy when Patty asked me if I would like to review her book and be part of the blog tour.  I have been a fan of Patty’s from the beginning.  Her patterns are really well written and illustrated.  She takes you through each step with ease, and this book is no different.  It is top notch.

This book is all about sewing with knits, which is great, because, let’s be honest, we all prefer to wear knits.  But many of you are afraid.  Patty breaks it all down for you – from types of knits, elastic, thread, trims, tools to use and more. (And you do not need a serger!)  She has your back, so you need not fear! (Plus they really are very very forgiving!)

When you add all the valuable information that she gives you to the 20 patterns included in this book, it makes it a must have for everyone!  Even if you have only boys or older children…they might get married someday and have girls.  ;-)   Everyone needs this book!  It doesn’t matter if you’ve sewn a ton or are starting your journey.  I really do recommend this one!!!

As soon as  I got my copy from Wiley Crafts, I went through to mark the patterns that I just had to make right away….only I ended up marking almost all of them!  Haley really needed some shorts – so I started with the yoga shorts.  She LOVES them!  After making the first pair, I went back and made more.  But since she didn’t want the yoga waist band, (she is odd) I decided to add a little length to the leg so it ended up somewhere between the pants and the shorts versions in the book. :)   They go together so quickly and the fit is great because it’s not all frumpy in the hip and thigh.  Since we left off the yoga waistband, we opted for a simple elastic casing instead.  I love that you can easily modify these patterns to specifically suit your child!

Of course, the bloom dress was one I had to make. (Pictured above.)  It went together with ease and is SO cute.  (Haley wore it on Easter.)  Our favorite so far, however, is the Tie Strap Halter.  I used ruffle fabric and we love it!  Since I left off the contrast fabric along the bottom, I wish I would have lengthened it to extend the amount of time she could wear it.  Of course, Patty recommends that in the book….I just cut before I read. (Bad me!)  I’ll remember it for next time!  Next on our list is the Swim Cover-up.  :D

Anyway back to the book – I love that it is the spiral bound so it can lay flat on your cutting table.  There are 9 pattern sheets included and each one is clearly labeled.  Then every  project clearly states which page to find the pieces that you need.  I love that!  The patterns are ones that your children will actually want to wear!

 

So to win a copy of the book, simply leave a comment below!  I will select a winner on Friday, April 13th and Wiley Publishing will send you a copy! Yay!  And be sure to follow the rest of the tour. :-)

 

Sewing MODKID Style Blog Tour

Wed., April 4th, 2012: A Sewing Journal

Friday, April 6th, 2012: Pink Chalk Studio

Monday, April 9th, 2012: Melanie Dramatic (That’s me!)

Wed., April 11th, 2012: Stop Staring and Start Sewing

Friday, April 13th, 2012: Generation Q

Monday, April 16th, 2012: Lil Blue Boo

Wed., April 18th, 2012: True Up

Friday, April 20th, 2012: Paige Hill

Monday, April 23rd, 2012: Boutique Café

Wed., April 25th, 2012: The Long Thread

Friday, April 27th, 2012: Sew Pretty Dresses

Monday, April 30th, 2012: Prudent Baby

Wed., May 2nd, 2012: Our Busy Little Bunch

Friday, May 4th, 2012: Fat Quarterly

Monday, May 7th, 2012: Making It Fun

Wed., May 9th, 2012: MODKID blog

 

 (Disclosure: Wiley Publishing provided me a copy of the book so that I could participate in this blog hop.  All opinions are my own.)

*********Comments closed! Winner will be announced shortly (with a recipe so we are all winners!)*********

 

Share and Enjoy


Pinterest
  1. Yes, I do need this book! I love Patty’s fabrics and want to sew some outfits for my niece from this beautiful book!

  2. I would love to try sewing with knits but have always been nervous to try. This looks like a great book!

  3. This book looks like a winner to me. My grandaughter would be so excited to choose what Gramdma sews for her first. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  4. You’re right, I think I need this book. My gorgeous daughter has wonderful toddler curves and I want to make her cute clothes that fit properly.

  5. This book looks great! I think you are right, that I need it! I could really use the extra info on knits. Thanks for the chance to win!

  6. I’m a huge fan of Patt’s, too, both her patterns and fabrics! I’ve even used her doll clothing patterns! How fun it would be to win a copy-otherwise I will probably buy it!

  7. Looking forward to learning more about sewing with knits. Thanks for the opportunity to win.

  8. Thanks for the chance to win! I love, love, love, the patterns in the book and would have a blast whipping up some cute outfits for my girls!

  9. What a beautiful book ! Nice to hear that the directions &
    explanations are easy to follow ! Thanks for the giveaway…

  10. This book is just what I need! I get so lost figuring out fabrics for clothes, and to have patterns too! Wow. I will have to get this book one way or another.
    Thanks for introducing me to it.
    Donna

  11. Haley is the cutest model ever!!! I always want to make what you make for her. I am excited at the idea of this book. Knits make me nervous!

  12. You are right: I need that book. I just started sewing with knits and need any help i can get! :-)

  13. This book would help so much in sewing for my granddaughters. It would be great to help me get over the fear of knits! Thanks for the chance.

  14. I adore the Modkid blog and all the colourful dresses Patty makes. Would love to win this book, but I live in the Netherlands. Is that a problem?

  15. Just by seeing the photos of projects from the book, I see outfits that I can make for my greatnieces. I like the Naomi dress and those cute yoga pants too. Thanks for the chance.

  16. Having some posting issues – trying again. With 5 grandnieces, I see lots of projects to make for them from your photo review. The Naomi dress is really cute. Thanks for the chance.

  17. Thanks for a chance to win this beautiful book. I love Patty’s designs.
    Am sewing myself a dress in knit from her Penelope pattern.

  18. What cute clothes. I’d love to have this book!

    Thank you and Wiley Publishing for a super giveaway and a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. This book looks fabulous! I like sewing kids clothes & would love to have some patterns to learn to sew with knits. Thanks for a chance to win! :)

  20. I really need to get my hands on this book! Love the halter top pattern! Thanks for the chance!

  21. I’d love to win this for my niece and her four cute kids. Thanks for the chance to enter.

  22. Love ModKid patterns! Love the accuracy of the patterns and the explicitness of the directions.

  23. This looks like a great book, count me in. I love sewing for my daughter and always looking for new patterns to try out!

  24. This book is a bargain even at the published price; free would be even better! Please consider me entered in the drawing.

    I’m a newbie to knits, & my main problem is getting the right fit. I’m really, really, really hoping that you will share your expertise. For the halter top, for example, did you choose the size equal to your daughter’s exact chest measurement, did you choose a larger size to allow for wearing ease, or did you choose a smaller size to create negative ease? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  25. Pick me! I couldn’t resist and bought Patty Young knits when they first came out – I NEED a book to learn how to sew them together!! Adorable patterns!!! Thanks for the review and the chance to win!

  26. Yes, I DO need this book, because I hope to have grandchildren soon and I want to be ready! ! !

  27. I loved that she included patterns for bathing suits too. Genius. I would love to win this, because, you’re right- knots are the first things out of my kids’ closets. Everything else comes later for them.

  28. I have no children’s patterns for knits. These patterns look great! I would love to make some of these for my daughter.

  29. I can see my comment so I think that means I’m in the giveaway…I have to be… because you’re so right… I need this book!

  30. Thanks for the chance. I have a serger and I’ve finished a pillowcase. On to knits, hems, bathing suits are a long way off but it’s warm a long time around here!